Gamecube as Monitor

July 7, 2006 at 5:01 pm (Uncategorized)

We at last have succumbed to the lure of the video games. Okay, Noah’s had a Gameboy Advance since Christmas of ’04 but until this week we had no REAL video game playing system. Noah has been persistently asking for a Gamecube for about the last year. And, since you can buy an adapter to make Gameboy games playable on a gamecube we figured that was the system to go with. He’s got 7 GBA games to his name.

So I made a deal with him at the beginning of the summer. If he could save up $20 (so hard for this spender) then mom would pitch in the rest. I could have made the amount higher but he’s never kept more than about $13 at a time.

So he was doing pretty good, extra chores, etc. He had earned $13 when we left for our trip to CA for my brother’s wedding. And he couldn’t stand it any longer. While we were at Target getting a wedding card he had to look at the toys. And he HAD to have Snake Eyes (from GI Joe). I made sure he understood what that meant and he did and so we started over.

In my quest to rid ourselves of our multiplying toy collection I got the kids to agree to sell a bunch of stuff and whatever they made could go toward the gamecube. I figured they’d at least make the $20. Well they made $60 so we went and got it…

…and now he’s addicted. I know some of it is the novelty of it. I’ve done some monitoring of time usage in these few days but we’ve had a couple of meltdowns already. So I’m going to have to come up with some sort of system. I was thinking of giving him a set time each day and then having "Extra time" cards that could be earned for good behavior in 15 minute increments.

I have gotten one thing out of it. Yesterday he made me a deal that if I would let him play again before dinner he would get himself dressed for 2 weeks all by himself. Getting dressed is one of those issues for us that I find most of the time is not worth the struggle and I just help him. I know he can do it but I have to choose my battles.

So today he tried it again, 2 more weeks. I said "What about for the rest of you life." AND HE AGREED! So now I get to hold that over his head (insert maniacal laugh here).

Do you guys have any good suggestions for monitoring time on the video games?

2 Comments

  1. Addie said,

    My oldest daughter is ADDICTED to XBOX. She has to ask BEFORE she can play it, and I usually give her a time frame. Then I set the time on the stovetop and when it buzzes, she knows she’s done.

    Works for us. 🙂

  2. Stacey said,

    Somehow I missed this post.

Leave a Reply

