Blogging Tribute for 9/11

July 1, 2006 at 12:11 pm (News)

2996_1
This year will be the 5th anniversary of
September 11.   A  blogger named D.C. Roe is organizing an online blogging memorial for each of the 2,996 victims on September
11, 2006.  The effort is named, appropriately, 2,996.  D.C. writes

2,996 is an effort to bring together 2,996 bloggers in a massive memorial to the victims of 9/11.

On
September 11, 2006, the 5th anniversary of the attacks, 2,996 bloggers
will each post a memorial to one victim. We will remember the innocent
victims of that day–we will not remember the murderers.

It’s simple to participate–all you need is a blog.  You sign up by leaving a comment at DC’s blog, or by e-mailing him at dcroe05ATyahoo.com
(remember to replace the "at" with the @ sign).  He will assign you a
victim to memorialize on September 11, 2006, and he’ll give you a link
with information about that person.

I was thrilled to be able to request and receive a particular victim, my friend’s cousin-in-law, Joshua Piver. I’m hoping to gather some even more personal information from the family.

I hope you’ll stop by and join the effort.

1 Comment

  1. tnchick said,

    I’m doin’ this. I already have my post drafted – if I can gather more info I’ll add it as I find it =)

Leave a Reply

