Works For Me Wednesday

June 28, 2006 at 7:00 am (Works For Me Wednesday)

Wfmw_1

My car emergency kit has evolved over the years as my children have grown but here’s a sample of the emergency items I keep stashed in my van

Baby stage – water bottle, single serving formula, couple of diapers, small thing of wipes and a couple of changes of clothes. You know for those times you were JUST running to the store but were still gone 3 hours later.

Potty-training – Even more changes of clothes, a portable potty. Yes, you read that right. I kept one of those small toilet seats in my van while potty training my son. When he said he had to go, he had to go. With my daughter I found that she could usually still wait 15-20 min which was long enough to get to the next store.

Preschool – water bottles, wipes (in those single wrap things), some non-melting snacks, couple of books, pen, paper, bandaids.

Click on over to Shannon’s to view the links to everyone else who participates.

3 Comments

  1. Stacey said,

    Great tips Julie!!

  2. LammyAnn said,

    y’know…I used to be prepared…. when my first kids were little…. I’ve gotten very lazy lately—guess I need to re-evaluate… 😛
    Great blog.

  3. Sarah said,

    You are the second person I’ve read today who talked about having a portable toilet in the van for potty training. We’re not quite ready for that yet, but we’ll be there soon. I will definitely be planning to have and extra for the car.

Leave a Reply

