Let There Be Dust

June 27, 2006 at 9:35 pm (Fun)

So I don’t know if this happens in other parts of the country but in Phoenix we get these spectacular dust storms – particularly in the summer. They cause horrible car accidents sometimes. Today was a nasty one. It started about 5 pm while picking up my son from a friends house. Leaving the neighborhood you could see the dirt in the sky – visibility was under a mile.

Dust2_1
To make matters worse I have to drive past about 10 miles of empty farm fields on the way home. So this was the view out my windshield in the worst of it. Luckily it wasn’t this thick the whole time and people were driving very carefully. I was actually impressed that a lot of people thought to turn on their hazards so the person behind could see them.

Let’s hope some rain is on the way.

6 Comments

  1. Addie said,

    Oh, wow! That’s amazing! Thanks for the picture. 🙂

  2. Stacey said,

    That was an awesome picture!

  3. Greg said,

    I don’t think it’s the dust storm that causes accidents, i think it’s people trying to take pictures of it while they’re driving 60 mph down the road 🙂

  4. Julie said,

    I was NOT driving 60 mph – more like 45 🙂

  5. Kelley said,

    Aaaah, you did it! You’ve found one thing I DON’T miss about Phoenix! Although I’d trade a dust storm for a tornado any day of the week.

  6. Jenny said,

    I can’t believe you don’t miss those Kelly- I do! It is amazing when you can see that big wall of dust moving it’s way across the valley. We don’t get very much exciting weather here- it just rains!

Leave a Reply

