Why Does Hollywood Do That?

June 10, 2006 at 2:58 pm (News)

Have you ever been to a movie and walked away going "Wow, that so wasn’t what I thought it was going to be." Well from all the previews and articles I had seen/read I thought
"The Breakup" (w/ jennifer anniston and vince vaughn) was going to be a hysterical comedy. Had it not been for the warning of a friend I would have been really caught unaware. But just before Stacey and I left for the movie she said "Oh, it’s sad." At first we thought she was joking, but she wasn’t.

Now, granted, the first 30 minutes were pretty funny, and there were some humorous points beyond that but overall you basically were watching a relationship implode and it was not pretty.

I had to laugh out loud at the fight they had (that started it all). Part of it went something like this (after a dinner party)

"I want you to help with the dishes."
"Okay, fine, I’ll help with the dishes."
"No, not if you’re going to be like that."
"So you don’t want me to help with the dishes?"
"It’s not about the dishes."
"You just said it was about the dishes."
"I just want you to WANT to do the dishes."
"You want me to WANT to do the dishes?"

I have had that EXACT conversation with my husband many years ago. It took me umpteen years before I realized that I did not marry a man that would ever WANT to do the dishes. So I actually have to say "Honey, will you please do the dishes tonight." And he complies. And life is much better.

Leave a Reply

