My traumatized 3 yr old

May 23, 2006 at 2:49 pm (Parenting)

I have scarred my kids for life. Seriously they both get jumpy getting in the car with me now. (Read why here)

I thought I had back seat drivers before? Ha! My 3 1/2 yr old will randomly shout out "Don’t crash mama!"…when there are no other cars in sight. Or after a morning of errands "Good job not crashing mama. I’m so proud of you."

Last night while riding with her dad she told him "Daddy, you’re not allowed to crash because then I couldn’t hug you and kiss you like mama." (For the record, I have not cut off the hugs and kisses, just they can’t involve jumping all over my legs and ankle – which is hard for a 3 year old.)

My son has been overly emotional for the last couple weeks and we finally had a good talk the other night and he admitted that he’s still a little freaked out, scared when he thinks about it, scared that it will happen again. What are you supposed to say to that? I can’t promise him that it will never happen again. I tried to reassure him that mommy tries her best to be safe and that God was obviously watching out for us and protecting us (Seriously, if I had been another 60 seconds into my turn it’s quite possible that one or both of my kids would not be here today.)

I’m hoping it will wear off with time. I have to admit I’m skittish enough as it is without the help from the peanut gallery.

Leave a Reply

