Slowing Down

May 16, 2006 at 12:04 am (Faith)

For those of you who know me, you know that I don’t like to stand still. I get bored if I have nothing to do (TV qualifies as something to do). And when I’m doing something, I do it fast. I walk fast, I talk fast, I read fast. It’s just in my nature…until now.

My husband has taken to calling me "Hop-A-Long". After 8 days my right ankle is still not healed. I am still wearing the air cast but can make it without the crutches as long as it’s not too much walking. But boy am I SSSSLLLLOOOOWWWW. And it’s so annoying. Mark is torn between trying to keep up with the kids who are running ahead and not wanting to leave me in the dust. Of course he opts for the kids as he knows I won’t be running into oncoming traffic.

At the end of the day I am exhausted by the extra energy it takes to get through the day. I have such a newfound awe and respect for people who have to go through life with a disability like this. I know that my short time pales in comparison and I really shouldn’t be complaining.

So I’m trying to stay positive and take this as a time to slow down and realize that I don’t have to do everything myself, it’s okay to ask for help and it’s okay to NEED help.

I’ll have to post some pictures of my foot in a few days. It’s looking lovely (if you like your skin to be purple blue and green). No camera cord w/ us in CA but I’ll post one soon.

Leave a Reply

