Jump for Joy

May 2, 2006 at 9:23 am (Parenting)


When I was in sixth grade my mom and I invented a new word. We were living in San Diego at the time where it was often overcast and gray outside and that would put me in a crabbier mood on the way to school. We called it the "glumps". I still get the "glumps" today. It’s the "I don’t feel like doing it, can’t get enough energy GLUMPS."

My 3yo does not understand glumps and thinks that mommy should be bursting with enthusiasm to play endless rounds of make believe. And jump on the trampoline. We bought the kids one of those big trampolines for Christmas and it as been great fun. But the 3 yo does not like to jump alone, I MUST go with her.

And I’ve discovered something. No matter how "glumpy" I feel, if I actually get off my rear and get on the trampoline with her in a matter of a jump or two I can’t help but smile. I mean how can you jump without smiling? It immediately lifts my mood. We do tricks, we play tag, it’s great fun! It’s pretty good exercise too.

Leave a Reply

