Identity Crisis

April 21, 2006 at 3:53 pm (Fun)

My 3yo daughter is apparently having a bit of an identity crisis. The other morning she said to me "Mommy, I want hair right here…" as she stroked her chin. (Daddy has a goatee.)

ME-"Well sweetie, only grown up boys get hair there." (I know there are exceptions but I wasn’t going THERE.)

HER-"But I’m a boy-girl."

A boy-girl. Interesting concept….

Today on the way to Wal-Mart she said "Mommy, I want to be a daddy." (She worships Daddy)

ME-"Well sweetie, boys become daddys. If you grow up and have a baby then you’ll be a mommy."

HER-"But I want to be a daddy. I’m a BOY-GIRL!!" (said most emphatically).

I’m not sure what the fascination is. I think perhaps I am going to have a tomboy. This is supported by the fact that she never lets me put ponytails or barrettes or anything in her hair and that she would rather watch "Shark Boy & Lava Girl" then "Cinderella".  Oh well.

Leave a Reply

