Stealing Time

April 15, 2006 at 6:55 pm (Uncategorized)

Okay, I admit it, I’m a TV junkie. It’s not my fault. Who invented the DVR? It’s that guys fault. The ability to record any program, any time w/o having to remember to insert a blank tapes has changed my life…and not for the better. I now record shows that I don’t even like that much just to have something to watch on the nights when I don’t feel like doing anything but veg in front of the TV.

And yet I complain about not having enough time (See my Thursday 13). I just started reading Beth Moore’s book “Breaking Free” and am really loving it. I find myself going to the book rather than the TV. I’ve been really convicted that I could free up a lot of time to spend studying God’s word if I would curb the TV.

Am I going cold turkey? Well no. I don’t think I could. Plus there are times when I can’t do anything but sit on a couch. But I did go in and delete the timers for a bunch of shows. I left the ones I REALLY enjoy – West Wing, Alias (2 that will be gone after this season), Grey’s Anatomy, American Idol. Think how much time I’ll save by reading the Apprentice recap online the next morning?

Hopefully I can steal back some time and give it back to God.

Leave a Reply

