Thursday Thirteen

March 30, 2006 at 8:15 am (Uncategorized)

Thirteen Things about MY CHILDHOOD


1. I am the youngest – 2 older brothers.
2. I was the first to get married at 20. Oldest brother getting married this summer – horray!

3. My brothers teased me mercilessly in those teen years but were never really mean to me (unlike friends brothers).

4. We use to have "sleepovers" and sleep in sleeping bags in each other’s rooms for fun sometimes.

5. MOM & DAD don’t read this – We once snuck out of Phil’s window, went around the corner and set off some firecrackers in the middle of the night (or something small that sent sparks).

6. My oldest brother is really tall so I used to threaten the kids at school that if they were mean I’d have him come beat them up.
7. Phil never would have beaten up anybody.

8. I would always get freaked out at night (I have a very active imagination) and have to turn the hall light on and leave my door open.

9. As a teenage I loved to sleep until noon on Saturdays. (I still do, it just never happens.)

10. We didn’t have much money so things like McDonald’s etc were very rare. So occassionally after Sunday night church my brothers and I would chip in and treat the family – it was always like a sneaky thing too – we’d tell my dad, but not mom who would act surprised when we’d pull up to McD or Dunkin Donuts. (This was when you could feed 5 people at McD for like $8.)

11. If driving home from some place late, I would often pretend to be asleep so that my dad would carry me in the house and put me to bed.

12. I cracked my chin open in 8th grade trying to ride a skateboard (I don’t know what I was thinking). It stopped on a rock, I did not.

13. I had the same best friend from kindergarten until my senior year in high school.

Links to other Thursday Thirteens!
1.   Addie
2. Theresa

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday.  Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged!  If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments.  It’s easy, and fun!  Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well!  I will link to everyone who participates and leaves a link to their 13 things. Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

Leave a Reply

