No Kissing Allowed

March 5, 2006 at 10:47 pm (Uncategorized)

Other moms will tell you that a son will reach a certain age when he won’t want to be kissed by his mom – 7, 8 somewhere in there.

But for me it was about age 3. Noah absolutely detests being kissed. And it’s not just me, it’s everyone. Of course now, 3 years later, I realize that this is largely due to the fact that he has Sensory Integration Disorder (more on that some other time) and the touch sensation in a kiss is actually disturbing to him.

For years the poor grandmas have gotten their kisses immediately wiped off. When it’s time for them to leave the house and we tell the kids to say goodbye, Noah will actually preface his with “No kisses, just hugs.” They finally understand.

But we all forget. There are just moments in the day where he’s so adorable, or I’m so proud of him that I grab him and plant one on him. Then I get karate chopped. That’s the punishment he’s deemed appropriate for anyone who kisses him. It’s worth it sometimes though.

There are 2 special kinds of kisses allowed – butterfly kisses and loud ear kisses. The latter is when I put my mouth to one of his ears and make really loud “smacking” kiss noises which make him laugh hysterically. That’s about as close as I get.

So for now, hugs are good, kisses are bad. I’m wondering if he’ll change his mind when he’s about 14 🙂

Leave a Reply

