The BIG Day

February 27, 2006 at 9:36 am (Uncategorized)

Well today is the day – the braces go on. My appt is in an hour. I have to admit I’m a little nervous. Not sure why. I guess I’m still wondering what I’ll look like. I remember at 14 thinking that getting braces on was so traumatic – the whole metal mouth thing. While I don’t remember being extremely self conscious the entire time they were on, I obviously was if an entire 2 years of my life went by without an pictures with an open-mouthed smile.

You’d think at 32 I’d be confident enough that I wouldn’t care what the braces did to my appearance. Wrong! I care, at least a little bit. They’ll be mostly plastic which should help 🙂 But that’s 2 years with them on – a big committment. On the way to school this morning my 6 yr old asked “Will you have them on for the rest of your life mom?” I said “No, just 2 years – till your 8 and a half.” His response was, “But that’s forever!” (in exasperated voice). Thanks Noah 🙂

Here goes nothing. Wish me luck (thanks for the phone call T). I’ll post a picture soon….maybe 🙂

Leave a Reply

